Wahab Almuhtadi

wahab almuhtadiDr. Wahab Almuhtadi, P.Eng., SMIEEE, EIC Fellow has over 23 years of university and college teaching experience and over 30 year experience in R&D and engineering industries. He is a Professor and Coordinator of Algonquin College/Carleton University Joint Degree Program Bachelor of Information Technology – Optical Systems and Sensors (BIT-OSS)”. He’s also R&D Coordinator at Algonquin Faculty of Technology and Trades. Prior to that, he worked with Nortel as Team Leader and Senior System Engineer in Optical Solutions R&D. Dr. Almuhtadi proves remarkable leadership with his strong background in high technology and engineering industry helped the College to become a Polytechnic Institution. He is Algonquin Applied Research founder leading to $10.5M funded from various Canadian agencies, and founder/designer of $5M leading-edge Optophotonics Lab/Optical Transport Network-OTN (0.15 - 200Gbps). He is one of the founders of “Centre of Excellence in Next Generation Networks-CENGN,” with $65M funding. As a senior researcher, his research projects include, for example: QoS Optimization using Adaptive Intelligence Techniques in Satellite Systems ($2.8M); Remote Objective Monitoring of Bio-Signals (ROMOBS) ($0.4M); Remote/Rural WiFi Networks ($100k); Traffic Engineering in WiMAX Mobile Networks ($300k); Traffic Engineering in WiMAX Fixed Networks ($311k); Mesh Network Multipathing/ Communications Handset-Relaying Prototype ($300k); CT Wireless for Commercial Building Electrical Panels ($100k); IEEE Humanitarian Wireless WiFi Project for Latin America ($25K) and among others. Dr. Almuhtadi is an author of several technical papers and co-author of books.

Over 26 years of service for Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), he has been actively engaged as a volunteer serving in several posts that he held throughout all IEEE levels. Currently, Dr. Almuhtadi is the IEEE President of IEEE Consumer Technology Society (CTSoc). He Served as Vice President, Education (CTSoc), CTSoc Distinguished Lectures Committee Chair, CTSoc Education Committee Chair, CTSoc Nomination Committee, CTSoc Associate Editor, Director, North America Region, IEEE Communications Society (ComSoc) and BoG Member, Chair, and Publications and Communications Group-IEEE Canada-R7). He still serves as IEEE Canadian Foundation Committee Director, ComSoc/CESoc/BTS Ottawa Joint Chapter Chair, Ottawa Section Senate Vice-Chair, Ottawa Section Award Committee Chair. He chaired and organized more than 29 conferences. He received several recognition awards from IEEE, academia and industry, to name few: IEEE 2010 Leadership Award for Distinguished Leadership and Outstanding Contribution as a Leader at the Section and Regional Levels, Serving IEEE for the Benefit of Its Members and the Engineering Profession, 2013 IEEE Canada W.R. Service Award, 2009 Teaching Excellence-Algonquin College Laurent Isabelle Award-, NISOD Award-2006, and 2015Engineering Institute Of Canada (EIC) Canadian Pacific Railway Medal. For more details click here.