AGENDA & MINUTES (IN ITALICS, INLINE)

AVS Committee – 2022 2nd Meeting Call using Webex

2023-07-24 1:00PM - 2:15 PM UTC

1) Call to Order & Roll Call [15 min.]

Objective: Establishment of Quorum

Background: Need majority for official meeting. See Addendum A for attending members.

19 TC members were present including 2 officers. 4 members informed Chair Sugiyama about their apology for absence by e-mail.

Sugiyama declared that it was the first time the quorum had been established and any decision to be made today would be formal.

2) Approval of Agenda –ALL [5 min.]

Objective: Quick review of agenda for all participants

Background: Agenda already dispatched

Chair Sugiyama explained the items on the agenda. Agenda approved by participants.

3) Self-Introduction of Members - ALL [10 min]

Objective: Self-introduction of new TC members (name, affiliation, etc.)

Background: We have new participants in the meeting. See Addendum A for attending members.

List of new members: Yu Tsao, Ying-Ren Chien, Hannes Mareen, Krishan Kumar, Liang Vincent Wang, Gwanggil Geon, Chu Yu, Shiguang Liu, Vinal Patel, Jayasingam Adhuran, Rangababu Peesapati.

Attending members introduced themselves, including their affiliations and research areas, in the order of Yu Tsao, Liang Vincent Wang, Gwanggil Geon, Jayasingam Adhuran, and Hui-Yuan.

4) Communication from the Chair - AVS Chair [40 min]

Objective: Report activities since the last TC meeting

Background: Some TC activities were not public

• TC Restructuring

Sugiyama reported the TC restructuring in early April by removing many inactive members. With these inactive members, the quorum could never be established. Inactivity was confirmed based on declaration of positive will. Originally there had been 62 members, and now only 38 left. To establish, originally 32 members had to present, it was reduced to 20.

Any member not able to participate in the TC meeting should notify the Officers in advance in order to establish a quorum.

Nominations by AVS TC

ICCE Berlin, 2023 : Charith Abhayaratne was appointed as a track co-chair and received 6 papers to review.

ICCE Las Vegas, 2024 : Ilker Hamzaoglu was appointed as a track co-chair. The submission deadline is August 15th.

Distinguished Lectures. Sugiyama nominated Sambit Bakshi and Yu Tsao. He would follow up the election results.

• New Secretary:

Sugiyama mentioned that Navneet Upadhyay resigned for a personal reason. The previous Secretary, David S. C. You, kindly agreed to serve as the new Secretary and welcomed by the attending members.

5) Report of a TCE Webinar – Sugiyama [5 min]

Objective: Explain the status of the Webinar presenter

Background: Each TC has to recommend one presenter

TC webinar is scheduled in October. Sugiyama said he would ask Bakshi if he could be the presenter. Bakshi was absent at this TC meeting.

Tsao agreed to be the presenter on the CTSoc Webiner.

Sugiyama noticed, after the TC meeting, that Yu Tsao had already volunteered as a speaker. Because of this priority, AVS TC will send Yu Tsao as its speaker for the upcoming webinar.

6) A.O.B: - ALL [5 min]

Sugiyama told TC members that each Subcommittee will be asked to choose a Chair to make the Subcommittee operation smoother. For example, nominations by TC should be handled by the Nomination and Election Subcommittee although it has been basically performed by the Chair. The subcommittees could have some possible works. The publication subcommittee could propose a special track or special issue. The review subcommittee could possibly assist the review process of the CTSoc conferences.

7) Next Meeting - ALL [5 min.]

Chair Sugiyama suggested that the next meeting will take place in October. There will be a poll in early September to decide the exact date.

Adjournment [14:15 UTC]

The meeting was adjourned at 14:15 UTC.

Addendum A – Member Roster

O means present

riangle means an apology

x means absent with no notification

Member	Present	Affiliation	
Charith Abhayaratne	0	The University of Sheffield	Conference and Review
Jayasingam Adhuran		British Broadcasting Corporation	Conference and Review
, ,	0	Research and Development	
Sambit Bakshi		National Institute of Technology	Future Directions
	x	Rourkela	
Ashish Bhandari		National Institute of Technology	0
	x	Patna	
Julián Cabrera	X	Universidad Politécnica de Madrid	Student Competition
Miguel Chavarrías	0	Universidad Politécnica de Madrid	Conference and Review
Ying-Ren Chien	0	National Ilan University	Publication
Yoonsik Choe	0	Yonsei University	Future Directions
llker Hamzaoglu	0	Ozyegin University	Publication
David Han	X	Drexel University	Nomination
Gwanggil Jeon	0	Incheon National University	Publication
Yoshinobu Kajikawa	\triangle	Kansai University	Conference and Review
Ercan Kalali	0	Delft University of Technology	Publication
Dong Seong Kim	X	Kumoh National Institute of	Conference and Review
		Technology	
Krishan Kumar	X	National Institute of Technology	Conference and Review
		Kurukshetra Haryana	
Peter Lambert	\triangle	Ghent University - imec	Conference and Review
Wei-Min Liu	0	National Chung Cheng University	Education
Shiguang Liu	\triangle	Tianjin University	Conference and Review
Thanuja Mallikarachchi	X	University of Surrey	Education
Hannes Mareen	X	Ghent University - imec	Conference and Review
Wai Yin Steve Mung	0	The Education University of	Industry Relations and
C C		Hong Kong	Standards
Sang-hyo Park	X	Kyungpook National University	Nomination
Vinal Patel	X	IIITM Gwalior	Publication
Fernando Pescador	x	Universidad Politécnica de Madrid	Vice Chair
Heri Prasetyo	0	Universitas Sebelas Maret	Conference and Review
Chinthaka		Shibaura Institute of Technology	Publication
Premachandra	x		
Peesapati Rangababu	x	Naitional Institute of Technology Meghalaya	Publication
Waldir Silva		Universidade Federal do	Conference and Review
	x	Amazonas	
Jim Slevinsky	x	TELUS Communications	Industry Relations and Standards
Giuseppe Spampinato	\triangle	ST Microelectronics	Conference and Review
Norihiro Sugita	0	Tohoku University	Web
Akihiko Sugiyama	0	Yahoo Japan	Chair
Jelena Šuljug	0	University of Osijek	Conference and Review
Yu Tsao	0	Academia Sinica	0

Navneet Upadhyay	\bigtriangleup	The LNM Institute of Information Technology (LNMIIT)	Education
Glenn Van Wallendael	X	Ghent University - imec	Nomination
Sheng-Ming Wang	X	National Taipei University of Technology	Education
Liang Wang	0	DTS Inc., XPERI Corp	Industry Relations and Standards
Ekkawit Wangkanklang	X	Nakhon Ratchasima Rajabhat University	Education
Osamu Watanabe	Х	Takushoku University	Web
Chia-Hung Yeh	X	National Taiwan Normal University	Industry Relations and Standards
Shingchern You	0	National Taipei University of Technology	Secretary
Chu Yu	Х	National Ilan University	Conference and Review
Hui Yuan	0	Shandong University	Industry Relations and Standards